top of page

Three Things You Can Do Now to Improve Your Physical and Mental Fitness


Getting fit isn’t all about looking good. Getting fit should be about getting healthier; not just physically but also mentally.

Our mental well being goes hand-in-hand with our physical wellness. Did you know that most people who are physically unfit are that way mainly due to their mentality? It is true. I have been there. I have tried to lose weight by dieting, like many others, and have failed. Why? It wasn’t that the diets didn’t work. Eating healthier is never going to yield to you bad results. It was my mentality, that didn’t work.

I would think to myself, “I can’t keep up this act. Who am I kidding? I will eventually get my big piece of chocolate cake and it eat it too!”

I didn’t realize until many failed attempts (also the doctor telling me that I was borderline diabetic) that I needed to make a lifestyle change. I had to do something drastic to my way of thinking not just continue going along with the latest fad. Believe that being healthy is who you are and not what you are trying out. Be accountable as well, don’t make excuses for yourself. Most importantly be balanced. Don’t dive off the deep end when it comes to fitness. Privilege yourself to nice things every once in a while but never overdo it. Each principle applies mentally and physically.

I am proud to say before you, that today I am 40lbs lighter than what I used to be this time last year and it is all because I made the mental change first. So here it is for you all, remember:

  1. Getting and staying fit is impossible to do unless you change how you think.

  2. Hold yourself accountable and find people in your life who would do the same.

  3. You need to achieve balance about things that can overwhelm you.

Keep these in mind and achieving mental and physical fitness will be a cinch for you.

HBL-8.png

INSPIRATIONS

Maya Angelou

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.”

bottom of page